Fire Extinguisher Software in the UK: 6 Options Compared

If you service portable fire extinguishers, the paperwork is half the job: a register for every site, the right service date for every unit under BS 5306-3, a certificate the customer can file, and a reminder before it all comes round again. Fire extinguisher software does that part for you. This guide compares the options sold in the UK, what each one is built for, what it runs on and what it costs.

Every price below was read from the company's own website on 19 October 2026. Prices change, so check before you buy. One of the products, Fire Safe, is ours; it is listed on the same terms as the rest.

Fire extinguisher software on an iPhone showing units due this week, tags and the reference library
The short answer
Working alone or in a small firm: a phone app with the register, tags and certificates built in. Running an office with several engineers: a web system with job scheduling and a customer portal.

The price difference between the two is large, so be honest about which one you are.

What fire extinguisher software should do

  • Work out each unit's due dates from BS 5306-3. The annual service, the extended service and the CO2 overhaul fall on different years for each unit, from its own commissioning date. A site does not have one date; every unit does.
  • Keep an asset register per site. Type, size, location, serial number and service history, ready to print for the customer.
  • Tag the units. QR or NFC tags let you scan a unit instead of hunting for it in a list.
  • Produce the documents. A service certificate at the very least, plus anything else your visits produce: commissioning, corrective action, a logbook.
  • Work with no signal. Plant rooms and basements are where extinguishers live.
  • Remind you. A list of what is due next month is how the work comes back.

The fire extinguisher software options in the UK

FireCert

A web platform for fire and security contractors that covers extinguishers alongside fire alarms and emergency lighting. Its extinguisher page describes BS 5306-3 service records, certificates and an asset register per building, with QR labels and a client portal. Price: £79 a month for up to 5 users (Professional) or £129 a month for unlimited users (Business). Trial: 14 days.

FireProof

Built for fire extinguisher service companies, with an engineer app on iPhone and Android that works without signal, barcode and NFC scanning, BS 5306-3 service schedules and a portal for the customer's responsible person. Priced by the number of active devices (extinguishers), not by engineer. Price: £29 a month up to 50 devices, £69 up to 250, £149 unlimited, all excluding VAT. Trial: 30 days on the pricing page.

HiveSuite

A job management system with a fire extinguisher edition: inspections, certificates, quotes, invoices, Xero and QuickBooks, and a customer portal. The field app is native on Android with offline mode; their own page says that on iPhone it "currently runs as a web app that needs a connection". Price: from £34.99 a month (Solo), rising by team size, including VAT. Trial: 30 days.

Joblogic

Field service management for fire protection contractors: jobs, scheduling, asset registers, QR code tagging, invoicing and a customer portal, with an offline app for iOS and Android. Aimed at firms with an office running the work. Price: from £49 per user a month, billed annually (their example: a 5 user team is £245 a month). Trial: free trial on the Standard plan.

Rugged Data

A general field reporting app that is set up for each customer, used by fire safety companies among others; extinguisher servicing is one of the jobs it can be adapted to. Price: a one-off set-up fee from £495, then £35 per user a month. Trial: not stated; they offer a demo.

Fire Safe

A fire extinguisher servicing app for iPhone, iPad and Android, made for the engineer who does the servicing. It holds the register for every site, works out each unit's dates from BS 5306-3, checks the provision against BS 5306-8, writes NFC tags and prints QR tags, reads the maintenance label with the camera, and produces six A4 documents: service certificate, commissioning certificate, corrective action notice, asset register, monthly visual inspection and fire safety logbook. Everything works in flight mode, and it reminds you 30 days before a site is due. Finished visits can go to Mint Books as draft invoices. Price: £19.99 a month or £199.99 a year, single user, including VAT. Trial: 1 week on the yearly plan. See Fire Safe.

A BS 5306 fire extinguisher service certificate produced by fire extinguisher software on an iPad
A Fire Safe service certificate on iPad.

If you manage a building rather than service extinguishers

Some products in this space are for the responsible person, not the engineer. IgnisPro, for example, is built around hospitality operators: fire logbooks, drills, risk assessments and an extinguisher register, from £10 a month. It records the checks a premises does itself; it does not produce a BS 5306-3 service certificate for your customer.

Side by side

SoftwareBest suited toRuns onPublished priceTrial
Fire SafeThe engineer doing the servicingiPhone, iPad, Android£19.99 a month or £199.99 a year (inc VAT)1 week (yearly)
FireProofExtinguisher service companiesWeb, iPhone and Android app£29 to £149 a month by devices (ex VAT)30 days
HiveSuiteFirms wanting quotes, jobs and invoicesWeb, Android app (iPhone as a web app)From £34.99 a month (inc VAT)30 days
FireCertFire and security contractorsWeb£79 or £129 a month14 days
JoblogicContractors with an office teamWeb, iOS and Android appFrom £49 per user a month, billed annuallyStandard plan
Rugged DataFirms wanting a custom-built appMobile and desktopFrom £495 set-up, then £35 per user a monthDemo

How to choose

1

Count the people, not the featuresPer user pricing is cheap for one engineer and expensive for ten. Per device pricing is the opposite if you look after a lot of small sites. Work out what your own year would cost on each.

2

Do a real visit on the trialSet up one real site, tag a few units, go somewhere with no signal and produce the certificate. That tells you more than any feature list.

3

Look at the certificate your customer getsIt is the only part of the software they ever see. It should show every unit, what was done and when it is next due, with your business details on it.

4

Check you can get your records outAn asset register you cannot export is a reason you can never leave.

Questions

Is there free fire extinguisher software?

None of the products above is free to keep using. Most offer a free trial of between one week and 30 days, which is enough to run a real visit before paying.

Can I run fire extinguisher software on my phone?

Yes. Fire Safe runs on iPhone, iPad and Android; FireProof and Joblogic have iPhone and Android apps alongside their web systems; HiveSuite has a native Android app and runs on iPhone as a web app.

What is the difference between fire extinguisher software and an inspection app?

Very little in practice; the names are used for the same kind of product. What matters is whether it is built for the engineer servicing to BS 5306-3, or for a building's own staff recording their checks.

Does the software need to know BS 5306?

It should. Each unit's annual service, extended service and overhaul come round on different years, and working that out by hand across a register of hundreds of units is where dates get missed.

Prices, platforms and trials were read from each company's own website on 19 October 2026 (firecert.uk, fireproofapp.uk, hivesuite.co.uk, joblogic.com, ruggeddata.co.uk, ignispro.co.uk). Where a company does not state something, it is left out rather than guessed. Product names belong to their owners. If anything here is out of date, tell us and we will correct it.

Scroll to Top